Hysteric Picnic: Cult Pops



1. カルト・ポップ / Cult Pop

2. 潮騒 / Shiosai

3. 眩暈 / Memai

4. ミラー / Mirror

5. オベッカ・ダンス / Obecca Dance

CAR-78, ¥1300 (+tax)

CD, 5 tracks, 20:25 minutes


Hysteric Picnic are a young, Tokyo-based postpunk band reminiscent of bands like Joy Division, The Jesus & Mary Chain and The Birthday Party, with the darkness underpinned with a driving rhythm and momentum. The title Cult Pops is reflected in the music's melodic sense that combines the sweeping, romantic and almost gothic with moments of almost bubblegum catchiness.

2011年にオオウチソウ(ex:おいしいはなし)と、ヤマシタシゲキによって結成された謎のNew Waveバンド「Hysteric Picnic」。結成当初からNYのバーやライブハウスにて活動していた彼らの音は国内外問わずじわじわと注目を集め、昨年にはJapan Timesにて「2012年に注目すべき新人バンド」に選ばれた。これまでに1枚のEPを自主制作で販売し、She Talks Silence・Extruders等と共演してきた彼らがついに1stミニアルバムをリリース。バンド自らがレコーディング&プロデュースを行い、マスタリング・エンジニアにゆらゆら帝国・OGRE YOU ASSHOLEなどの作品で知られる中村宗一郎氏を迎えた今作品は、壊れる直前のヤバさに満ちたポストパンク・サウンドに仕上がっている。この不穏な空気とスモーキーで狂気じみた音像は、Joy Division、The Velvet Underground、The Jesus & Mary Chain等を彷彿とする。全5曲、ニューウェーヴ・ポストパンク新時代の幕開けを勧告する一枚。

Latest event and release news
Reviews and features on Japanese pop, indie and underground music