Hysteric Picnic: Lost Recordings

2020/10/2 ON SALE



1. Economic Animal

2. Perfect Love

3. Abekobe

4. Chandelier

5. Birthday


¥1000 + tax (CD-R)

¥700 (Bandcamp)


Catalogue number:CAR-45

Format:CD-R (50 copies limited) / Bandcamp

Hysteric Picnic:


So Oouchi(Vo/G)

Shigeki Yamashita(Gt)

2011年に結成された2人組のHysteric Picnicは、初期における新世代のダークジャパニーズ・ポストパ ンク、ノイズロックの旗手であった。結成直後にセルフタイトルのデビューEPをリリースし、2013年 にEP「Cult Pops」に続き、2015年4人編成でフジロックフェスティバルのRookie A Go-Goに出演。 その後すぐ、バンド名をBurghに変更し、P-Vine Recordからフルアルバム「テクノ・ナルシスのすべ て(All About Techno Narcisse)」をリリース。2016年をもって活動を終了している。


本作品「Lost Recordings」の曲は活動初期、2011年後半に録音された。当初これらは彼らの2枚目のEPとして構想され録音されたが、このうち3曲はドイツにて限定リリースされた7インチのB面やコン ピレーションアルバムへの提供曲としてそれぞれ発表された。2曲は未発表曲である。 散り散りになって忘れ去られていたこれらのトラックが、暗く、騒々しく、フィードバックに満ちた ユースの中で、バンドの遅れて到着したドキュメントのために今再び集まり蘇る。


Formed as a duo in 2011, Hysteric Picnic were early flag bearers of a new generation of dark Japanese post-punk and noise-rock, releasing a self-titled debut EP soon after forming, followed by the Cult Pops EP in 2013 before expanding to a quartet and making a 2015 appearance at the Fuji Rock festival’s Rookie A Go-Go stage. Soon after that, the band changed their name to Burgh and released the full-length album All About Techno Narcisse via P-Vine Records, before ceasing activity in 2016.


The songs on Lost Recordings date back to those very early days, originally recorded in late 2011 and originally intended as the band’s second EP. Three of those tracks appeared on compilation albums and a limited-edition Germany-only 7-inch single B-side, while two remained unreleased. Those dispersed and forgotten tracks are gathered together again now for a belated document of a band in the dark, noisy, feedback-drenched throes of youth.


Latest event and release news
Reviews and features on Japanese pop, indie and underground music